Pulitika2010

Everything you've wanted to know about RP politics, but were afraid to ask.

Senatorial candidate Neric Acosta wants stronger oversight for laws on environment

Posted by akosistella on April 20, 2010


    Share

Former Bukidnon Representative Nereus “Neric” Acosta III is not a “natural” politician. In an interview with PEP Philippine Entertainment Portal recently, the senatorial candidate from the Liberal Party admitted that he had no “conscious understanding” that he would become a politician.

“The opportunities were just there at the time,” he said. The academician was finishing his doctorate degree when he saw an opportunity to be elected to the Provincial Board of Bukidnon in 1995.

“My parents did not tell me to go for it; my mother even was reluctant for me to just jump in like that, fresh from graduate studies in the U.S. But I insisted. I said, 'No, no, no, kaya ko ‘to. I’ll give it a shot. And if this is the track for me, then I’ll stick to it.'”

And stick he did, because 15 years later, the teacher from Mindanao is now poised to nab a seat in the Senate, along with other senatorial candidates from Sen. Noynoy Aquino’s team SLAMAT LORRRD.

via PEP.ph.

Leave a Reply

 
