Pulitika2010

Everything you've wanted to know about RP politics, but were afraid to ask.

Noynoy: No kin can dictate my actions if I win as president

Posted by akosistella on April 22, 2010


    Share

If ever he wins in the May 10 elections, Senator Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III (Liberal Party) will not let any member of his powerful clan dictate his actions as president.

Aquino made the promise when he took the hot seat on GMA’s election program Kandidato, aired Wednesday, amid criticisms that his relatives from the influential Cojuangco family will play a vital role in his political decisions once he is elected to Malacañang.

“If I win I make all of the decisions because the responsibility is primarily mine,” Aquino said.

GMANews.TV

ALSO READ:

Escudero all out for ‘Noy-Bi’

‘That’s democracy’

[Sen. Noynoy] Aquino said he asked [Sen. MAR] Roxas if there was an issue on this about commitment. “There may be areas where Mar has a long-standing relationship with somebody else but I will never object to the support he is getting,” he said.Roxas said he was cool to Ang Ladlad’s decision not to go solid LP. “That is the point of democracy.”As to the similar endorsements made by Escudero, Roxas said: “I am friends with Senator Chiz. We have different political views. I am glad that he is supporting my candidate for president, and for me that is enough.”“For me, what is most important is that all powers for Senator Noynoy will join forces,” Roxas added.

via INQUIRER.net

AND:

Aquino silent on financiers, fears harassment by government

MANILA, Philippines—Liberal Party presidential candidate and Senator Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III is keeping mum on his financial backers because he did not want to put a “bull’s eye” on their backs.

In a press conference on Wednesday, Aquino said: “I kept silent on the sourcing of our funds primarily because people identified in pictures with us have been undergoing harassment. One of them had been harassed by the Bureau of Internal Revenue and then the Office of the Ombudsman. I will stick to my policy because I don’t want to make them a bull’s eye for government harassment,” said Aquino.

Aquino has been repeatedly asked if ports tycoon Enrique Razon Jr. has contributed to his campaign but on Wednesday, Aquino neither confirmed nor denied that he was approached by the businessman perceived close to President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

“I met him. He was already a big businessman during my mother’s time. I met him several occasions,” said Aquino. (Inquirer.net)

ALSO: Noynoy: Donors we rejected went to NP

Leave a Reply

 
