Pulitika2010

Everything you've wanted to know about RP politics, but were afraid to ask.

A Filipino of faith

Posted by akosistella on May 5, 2010


    Share

BY THE WAY By Max V. Soliven
December 19, 2005

We keep on paying lip service to the catchword, “Faith in the Filipino.” In this Christmas season of hope – and also sadness – this faith and confidence in ourselves too often falls short of being justified.

However, here’s one story which I must tell.

This incident took place last Thursday in the late afternoon. I was rushing home in my car, an X-5, from my last meeting in Makati – already far behind schedule, since my next appointment, after a change of clothes, was in Malacañang. My vehicle broke down in the mounting rush-hour traffic on the Paseo de Roxas, not far from the corner of Buendia. There I was, frantically trying to hail a cab in vain while the avenue was crawled alongside, almost gridlocked. My desperation must have been all over my face. I had fruitlessly attempted calling my Stargate office on Ayala Avenue, then my associates and friends nearby. I needed a car badly to rescue me from the corner where I had been stranded. But nobody could be contacted.

Then a white Chevrolet Ventura pulled up to the curb. The young man at the wheel leaned over, his window rolled down, and asked: “Can I help you, sir?”

I blurted out, “Yes – my car over there broke down. I must get home in a hurry! Can you bring me somewhere where I can find a taxicab?”

The fellow smiled and said: “Hop in, Sir I will drive you home.”

I scrambled aboard, thankful to the kind stranger, and God – and for my good fortune. In retrospect, I wonder why it had never occurred to me he might be an armed hold-up man. I guess it was the disarming nature of his smile, his earnest approach. Yet now could anyone be so generous as to stop in the middle of traffic, then offer a total stranger a ride all the way to his home? He hadn’t even asked how far away I lived; he’d made the offer without hesitation.

For the rest, pls click Max Soliven (Philstar archives).

ALEX Lacson is running for Senator under the Liberal Party.

Leave a Reply

 
