Pulitika2010

Everything you've wanted to know about RP politics, but were afraid to ask.

Villar confident of winning unless automated polls goes wrong

Posted by akosistella on May 8, 2010


    Share

MANILA, Philippines – Nacionalista Party (NP) standard-bearer Senator Manuel Villar Jr. expressed confidence that his party will win in Monday’s election unless something goes wrong with the Commission on Elections’ (Comelec) automated election system.

At the same time, Villar said he is now leaving his destiny to God as he capped a 90-day nationwide campaign in a miting de avance in Tondo, Manila last night.

 “Whether or not I can fulfill my dream of ending poverty, it’s up to our Lord now. I’ve already given my best shot in my firm belief that it’s what our Lord wants, this is what our people want,” he told reporters. 

via Philippine Star.

ALSO READ:

Teodoro: May 10 polls a big test to see if Filipinos can elect good leader

MANILA, Philippines—(UPDATE) Delivering the final salvo for his bid for the presidency, administration candidate Gilbert Teodoro stuck to his positive campaign, praising the Filipinos and saying they deserve the best leader in the coming May 10 elections.

At the packed Rizal Memorial Coliseum in Manila Friday night for his miting de avance, Teodoro said the world is watching the Filipinos not only if they can hold a credible elections, but also if it can elect a leader who can manage a country mired in woes.

“This election is a test, to find out if the Filipinos can elect a leader who can rise up to the challenges . . . The world is watching us to see not only if the elections are clean, but to see what will be the results. Have the Filipinos elected a leader who can manage the country’s many problems. . . one leader who can unite rather than cause disunity?” Teodoro said.

Via Inquirer.net

AND:

Gordon: I have done my best in my campaign

MANILA, Philippines – Bagumbayan presidential bet Sen. Richard Gordon said his three-month campaign had been an “uphill run all the way.”

“I have done my best. I make no predictions. I have run uphill all the way. I have run against surveys, I have run against money and made protestations with the Comelec. I’m at peace. I make no predictions,” he said.

Speaking to reporters just before attending a rally Thursday night in Marikina City with his running-mate Bayani Fernando, Gordon lamented that Monday’s elections could show the absence of meritocracy in the country.

Via Phil. Star

One Response to “Villar confident of winning unless automated polls goes wrong”

  1. gerry said

    for the sake of argument,i hope villar will beat erap…

Leave a Reply

 
