Pulitika2010

Everything you've wanted to know about RP politics, but were afraid to ask.

At the still point of the turning world

Posted by akosistella on July 5, 2010


    Share

Method to Madness
By Patricia Evangelista

MANILA, Philippines—The first time I saw Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, I thought she was pretty. I was 13, and there was a poster across the street from where I stood waiting for the school bus. She wore a deep blue suit, her hair was in a braid, and she was holding a red rose. It was 1998, and she was campaigning for the vice presidency. I won’t swear by the image, the suit might have been red and the rose might have been white and her hair might have been short, but I remember thinking she was pretty, and hoping she would win because she seemed like a nice lady.She became president when I was 15, after everyone I knew went to Edsa in January of 2001 to denounce a mustached man with a pompadour. My father thought I was too young to go, and so we sat at home and watched on television, as the nice lady took an oath before a cheering crowd in black.

Click Patricia Evangelista.

Leave a Reply

 
